Darcy Gamet
 
Retail Merchandiser
Darcy Gamet
Stats:
3 Yrs
with Tundra
Make Jewelry
Loves to
Vollrath - 52023 - 13 1/2 in Rubber Spatula
Vollrath Spatula
Favorite Kitchen Tool Shop Now

A Brief Q&A With Darcy

Nickname: Peanut

Chef Status: I really don’t have much talent when it comes to cooking, but I’m a great baker. I was trained at one of the most beautiful and amazing bakeries in Maine, called Standard Baking Company. I worked there for about 5 years, and was taught classic French and Italian artisan baking (breads and pastries). It was an experience in which I’ll never forget. I especially love baking during the holidays.

Darcy Gamet

Favorite Kitchen Tool: Spatula. I love the way they clean a bowl or allow you to gently fold ingredients into a recipe. But a close second would have to be a good food processor.

Favorite Recipe: The recipe for Currant Scones in the Standard Baking Company Pastries cookbook. INCREDIBLE.

Who, or What Inspires You? I’m especially inspired by passionate people who go after their dream and live happily, because they haven’t settled or compromised. It isn’t always easy being true to one’s self.

What Are You Afraid Of? Sharks. Completely and utterly terrified of them.

Most People Don't Know This, But I Once... I almost died drowning after being caught in an under toe, while living in California. Thankfully, I fainted and was carried to shore by a wave, but the last thing I remember (before fainting), was a shark fin swimming toward me.

My Story: I’ve lived all over the US (due to artistic, restless parents), and despite not liking it at all as a kid, I’ve grown to love how it makes me see life. I spent over half my life on the East coast, in Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, NYC, North Carolina, and Maine, and moved back to Boulder about 10 years ago.

When I got back to Colorado, I became a buyer at Wild Oats, and eventually took a position at Whole Foods on Pearl Street, buying for the bakery, and then Whole Body. I’ve worked in restaurants since I was a teenager, and enjoy the customer service industry.

I now live in Longmont with a bunch of much-loved rescue animals, and spend as much time with my family as possible. I love to make jewelry and am currently going to school for holistic medicine (acupuncture).